Three Former Cavaliers Named To 50th Anniversary Team.

Three former University of Virginia Cavaliers, Jeff Agoos, John Harkes and Claudio Reyna were named to the 11-player NCAA Men’s 50th Anniversity Team.

Indiana’s former head coach Jerry Yeagley was selected as the 50th Anniversity team coach, and he was joined by two of his players, Armando Betancourt and Angelo DiBernardo. Betancourt played for his native Honduras at the 1982 World Cup. DiBernardo was Indiana’s first All-American soccer player.

UCLA also had two players, Paul Caligiuri and Brad Friedel, named to the team, which was selected in online balloting conducted by the NCAA.

Completing the 11-player team was Long Island University’s Richard Chinapoo, Farrukh Quraishi, who played at State University New York-Oneonta, and Saint Louis University’s Al Trost.

Members selected to the anniversary team will be honored at the 2008 Men’s College Cup in Frisco, Texas, at Pizza Hut Park on Dec. 12-14.

50th Anniversary Team

Jeff Agoos, Virginia
Armando Betancourt, Indiana
Paul Caligiuri, UCLA
Richard Chinapoo, Long Island
Angelo DiBernardo, Indiana
Brad Friedel, UCLA
John Harkes, Virginia
Glenn Myernick, Hartwick
Farrukh Quraishi, SUNY Oneonta
Claudio Reyna, Virginia
Al Trost, Saint Louis

Share →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *