Hermann Trophy Winners
Virginia junior Morgan Brian and Maryland senior Patrick Mullins are the 2013 M.A.C. Hermann Trophy winners, symbolic of Division I National Player of the Year. For Mullins it marked the second consecutive year that he has received the Hermann Trophy.
Morgan (St. Simons Island, GA) helped Virginia to the NCAA D-I Women’s College Cup and to the #1 national ranking. The Cavaliers were unbeaten until losing in the national semifinals against UCLA. She was the ACC leader in assists (14) and points (46). She scored in all four of Virginia’s NCAA tournament games.
Mullins (New Orleans, LA) returned to Maryland after winning the Hermann Trophy as a junior and led the Terps to the national championship game. He finished his senior year with 17 goals, and was the ACC Championship MVP, leading the Terps to their second straight ACC title.

HS Player Of The Year
Clare Shea and George Campbell are the girls and boys NSCAA High School Player of the Year award winners, respectively. Shea plays for Northland Highlands Regional HS in New Jersey which has a 72-game unbeaten streak going. She had the game-winning goal in the semifinal, and another in the state championship game.
Campbell was a driving force in leading McDonogh School (MD) to a 21-0-1 unbeaten record and #10 NSCAA national ranking. He finished the season with 25 goals and 13 assists. Campbell is a member of the US Youth National Team player pool.

Youth Player Of The Year
Andi Sullivan and Rubio Rubin are the girls and boys NSCAA Youth Player of the Year award winners. Sullivan is a midfielder for Bethesda Soccer Club and has committed to play for Stanford in the fall of 2014. She is also a member of the U.S. Under-20 WNT.
Rubin is a forward for the Westside Timbers in Beaverton, Ore. He is rated #1 on TopDrawer Soccer.com’s Top 150 players from the Class of 2014. He is a member of the U.S. Under-17 Men’s National Team.

50 Year NSCAA Pins
Two longtime members of the NSCAA will receive their 50 year membership pins at the 2014 NSCAA convention in Philadelphia. Receiving recognition for half a century of membership will be Terry Jackson, who is one of the Red Aprons, and NSCAA Past President Gary Avedikian.
But those are just “kids” according to the longevity of Charlie Scott, former University of Pennsylvania men’s coach who was one of the founding members when the NSCAA was formed in 1941.
Scott received his 70-year pin the last time the convention was held in Philadelphia, and is now a 73-year member. Scott, now in his mid-90s, will be unable to attend the convention this year because of health issues.

Long-Term Service Awards
The NSCAA will honor three individuals who have elevated the game at the college, high school or youth levels through their long-term service to the NSCAA.
This year the awards go to Layton Shoemaker (Messiah College) for his contributions to college soccer as the Bill Jeffrey Award recipient. Gary Avedikian for his contributions to high school soccer will receive the Robert W. Robinson Award, and Dave Carr is the recipient of the Charlotte Moran Award for his contributions to youth soccer.

Men’s Collegiate Scholar
The NSCAA Men’s Scholar Athlete of the Year is Notre Dame senior forward Harrison Shipp , who is the fourth Hermann Trophy finalist in the history of the Notre Dame men’s soccer program.
Shipp, the Fighting Irish team captain, is a Business and Finance major with a 3.88 GPA. He has scored 12 goals as a senior, including five game-winners, and eight assists this season in helping the Fighting Irish to a 15-1-6 record and the NCAA Division I national champonship.

Women’s College Scholar
UCLA junior defender Abby Dahkemper is the women’s College Scholar Athlete of the Year. She is a Sociology major with a 3.37 GPA. She led UCLA to its first-ever NCAA Championship, anchoring a defense tht allowed just eight goals all season, and one in postseason play. She is the women’s College Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Tagged with →  
Share →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *