Morgan Brian & Patrick Mullins

Maryland senior forward Patrick Mullins became the seventh back-to-back Hermann Trophy winner, and Virginia junior midfielder Morgan Brian took the women’s award at the Missouri Athletic Club’s banquet in St. Louis.

The Hermann Trophy is symbolic of Player of the Year in NCAA Division I soccer.

Mullins, from New Orleans, had 19 goals and eight assists this past season and finished his career with 47 goals and 119 points. He edged Notre Dame senior forward Harrison Shipp in voting for the award presented by the Missouri Athletic Club.

Brian, from St. Simons Island, Ga., had 16 goals and 14 assists this past season. North Carolina senior midfielder Crystal Dunn, the 2012 Hermann winner, was second in the voting.

Both Mullins and Brian led their teams to the semifinals of the NCAA Division I College Cup for men and women, respectively.  Mullins is expected to be one of the first players selected in the 2014 MLS SuperDraft.

Tagged with →  
Share →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>