Charlotte 49ers’ Martha Thomas

Charlotte was slotted into a second-place tie with Rice University and three members of the 49ers’ roster were tabbed to the all-conference squad, as announced by Conference USA in its preseason women’s soccer poll and team. Players earning preseason honors following a vote of the league’s head coaches included senior Martha Thomas as the Preseason Conference USA Offensive Player of the Year with sophomores Megan Greene and Riley Orr joining her on the Preseason All-Conference USA Team.

Thomas, who earned the Conference USA Offensive Player of the Year award in 2016, received the first preseason nod of her career. She capped last fall by leading the league in scoring with 30 points on 10 goals and 10 assists, becoming the first player in program history with three double-digit scoring campaigns. She padded her resume with honors such as All-NSCAA Central Region First Team, All-Conference USA First Team, All-Conference USA Academic First Team, in addition to being a two-time member of the National Team of the Week and a one-time Conference USA Offensive Player of the Week.

Charlotte collected five first-place votes out of a possible 14 on its way to the second-place finish prediction. North Texas was picked to finish first and received eight first-place votes. The 49ers were one of two schools, along with WKU, to have three players selected to the preseason all-conference squad.

Preseason All-Conference USA Team
Megan Greene, Charlotte, So., F
Riley Orr, Charlotte, So., D/M
Martha Thomas, Charlotte, Sr., M/F

Nomvula Kgoale, Louisiana Tech, Sr., D
Carissa Sanders, North Texas, Jr., D
Jackie Stroud, Old Dominion, Sr., D
Samantha Chaiken, Rice, Sr., M
Nia Stallings, Rice, Sr., F
Chandler Backes, WKU, So., D/F
Allison Leone, WKU, Sr., GK
Nicole Roseland, WKU, Jr., M

Preseason Offensive Player of the Year
Martha Thomas, Charlotte, Sr., M/F

Preseason Defensive Player of the Year
Nomvula Kgoale, Louisiana Tech, Sr., D

Preseason Poll
1. North Texas (8)
T2. Charlotte (5)
T2. Rice (1)
4. Florida Atlantic
5. WKU
6. Old Dominion
7. Louisiana Tech
9. Marshall
10. UTSA
11. Middle Tennessee
12. FIU
13. Southern Miss
14. UAB

Share →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *